Course Open. Buggies are permitted on the course today.

Solomons Scratch Trophy

Presented in 1975 in affectionate memory of Gertrude Solomons.

Gertrude Solomons. Gertrude was one of twin daughters, the only children of Joseph and Lily Levy, born on 6th January 1883 at Aliwal North, South Africa. Her father was a Wool Merchant and one time Mayor of the town. After his early death, Lily brought the children back to London. Their schooldays were spent at Bedales in Hampshire. From there Gertrude went to the Royal Academy of Music, becoming an accomplished pianist and gained the Bronze Medal in 1909. Several of the family holidays were spent at St. Andrew's. she became a first class golfer whose handicap some time was three and in fact she stayed in single figures for upwards of 30 years. She won the Medal in January, 1914 at Costelbelle Golf club, Hyeres, in France. Her marriage was on 6th August, 1916 to Dr. Bethel Solomons, the well-known Gynaecologist. They had two sons and a daughter. She was a member of Killiney and Kingstown (later Dun Laoghaire) Golf Clubs and probably also at Delgany where all of the family played. She won I.L.G.U. Medals for competitions at Kingstown in 1927 and 1932 and played on a number of the Ladies' Teams there and also at Killiney. She reached the semi-final of the Irish Ladies' Golf Championship on one occasion at Royal County Down. During her many years in Killiney she was well regarded by the members and lady associates. She died on 30th June 1975 at her home in Rochestown Avenue, Dun Laoghaire.

 Year  Winner
1976 Froggie Kennedy
1977 Betty Maguire 
1978 Mary Campion 
1979 Betty Crighton 
1980 Carmel Brady 
1981 Carmel Brady 
1982 Carmel Brady 
1983 Audrey Hunter 
1984 Pauline Martin 
1985 Carmel Brady 
1986 Pauline Martin 
1987 Audrey Hunter 
1988 Audrey Hunter 
1989 Bernice Ringrose 
1990 Eilis Buckley 
1991 Bernice Ringrose 
1992 Pauline Martin 
1993 Pauline Martin 
1994 Eilis Buckley 
1995 Bernice Ringrose 
1996 Pauline Martin 
1997 Wendy Airey 
1998 Pauline Martin 
1999 Emer Kirwan 
2000 Emer Kirwan 
2001 Emer Kirwan 
2002 Lorraine Crighton Callan 
2003 Lorraine Crighton Callan 
2004 Emer Kirwan 
2005 Tina Twohig 
2006 Orla Fitzgerald 
2007 Hilary Murray 
2008 Emer Kirwan 
2009 Pauline Martin 
2010 Cathryn Towlson 
2011 Emer Kirwan 
2012 Emer Kirwan 
2013 Cathryn Towlson 
2014 Emer Kirwan 
2015 Emer Kirwan 
2016 Aisling Sherin 
2017 Emer Kirwan

Emer Kirwan


Emer Kirwan

2020 Emer Kirwan
2021 Emer Kirwan